The four stages of competence (aka mastery)

From Andrew in a conversation on Facebook (which you may or may not be able to see, sorry).

The four stages of competence that are often mentioned in my martial arts group:

  1. unconscious incompetence
  2. conscious incompetence
  3. conscious competence
  4. unconscious competence.

Mastery is achieved when you reach the fourth stage, unconscious competence.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.